Spring decor: decorative letters

Hi everyone! How was your weekend? I hope it was as productive and enjoyable as mine. Although I needed to work on Saturday morning in a professional project, I also had plenty of time to organize home, have fun with friends and finish some of my pending DIY projects, both for the spring decor renovation. Today I will show you the first one: my LOVE decorative letters. They are going to decorate my living room.

letters love

It was a really easy project, since I bought the cardboard letters already done. I just needed to decorate them. First, I thought about painting them, but at the end, I decided to use some lovely scrapbook paper I had at home.

Here’s what I used for the project:

  • Cardboard letters
  • Scrapbook paper (I decided to cover each letter with one different paper, so I needed four different ones)
  • Liquid glue
  • A brush for the liquid glue
  • Cutter
  • Pencil
  • Scissors
  • Ruler

2015-04-12 16.07.16

Step 1: preparing the paper

First of all, place the cardboard letter on a piece of scrapbook paper and trace around the letter with a pencil. If you want to cover them for the both sides, you will need to draw it twice. Make sure you turn it backwards. This is really important. If you don’t do it, the paper won’t match up with the letter.

Measure with a ruler the sides of the cardboard letter. Draw strips one centimeter wider. Cut out the scrapbook paper with scissors or a cutter.

Step 2: covering the sides

If you use liquid glue, paint the sides with a brush. Center the strips on the sides and cover them with the paper. There has to be paper left in both sides.

2015-04-12 17.17.11

 Step 3: covering the corners

As the strips are wider than the side, we are going to be able to cover properly the corners of the cardboard letters. You will need to make small cuts in the nooks. Glue the paper on the face of the letter, as it is shown in the ‘O’.

2015-04-12 17.00.27

 

Step 4: finishing

This is the forth and last step: cover the faces of the letter. As you did with the sides, “paint” the face with glue and after that, glue the scrapbook paper. This is the result.

2015-04-12 18.54.12

2015-04-12 18.54.57This is how they look with the spring decor of my living room. Do you like it? 

Leave a Reply

